State Disaster Assistance to Local Government (SDALG)
CSFA Number: 588-40-2342
Agency Name
Illinois Emergency Management Agency (588)
Agency Identification
Agency Contact
Sandra Hulbert
Short Description
IEMA, under the Disaster Relief Act (15 ILCS 30/), may provide state disaster assistance to reimburse local government organizations for actual costs for debris removal and emergency protective measures incurred as the result of an event proclaimed by the Governor as a disaster. Local governments include counties, townships, municipalities, school districts and special districts and may be called applicants under SDALG.
Subject Area
Public Safety
Program Function
Disaster Prevention and Relief
Enabling Legislation
Disaster Relief Act (15 ILCS 30/)
Types of Assistance
Project Grants
Uses and Restrictions
Work must be the legal responsibility of the applicant at the time of the disaster to be eligible for reimbursement. Ownership of the facility is generally sufficient to establish the responsibility for work. However, if the applicant leases the facility as a tenant, work related to that facility is not eligible unless the lease specifically states that the lessee is responsible for the type of work. A copy of the lease agreement must be provided to IEMA to determine responsibility.

Eligibility Requirements
In general, eligible work is based on the following minimum criteria:
It must be a direct result of the disaster event.
It must be within the designated disaster area (proclaimed county).
It must be the legal responsibility of an eligible applicant at the time of the disaster event.
Assistance will only be provided for eligible debris removal and emergency protective measures work completed during the incident period.
No funding will be provided for anticipated future work.

IEMA will determine the eligibility of all work and costs.

Eligible Applicants
Government Organizations;
Funding By Fiscal Year
FY 2020 : $500,000
Federal Funding
Notice of Funding Opportunities